top of page

May Volunteer Opportunities in the Darby/Cobbs Watershed

Warm weather means even more new volunteer and education events throughout the Darby/Cobbs Watershed and neighboring watersheds! Check out the links to learn more about each organization and the volunteer opportunities in the region.


There are many opportunities to make an impact in the region this month!


April 2024

  • Every Saturday in April: join DCVA for cleanups throughout the Darby and Cobbs Creek Watersheds. More information and registration can be found HERE.

Wednesday April 24: Transform Your Yard: Grass Removal, Pollinators, & Native Plants with DCVA (Virtual)

Thursday April 25: Public Bird Banding at Rushton Woods Preserve with WCT 

Thursday April 25: Stewardship Volunteer Thursday with WCT 

Saturday April 27: Stream Cleanup with DCVA

Saturday April 27: Upland Borough Tree Planting with CRC


May 2024

Thursday May 2: Public Bird Banding at Rushton Woods Preserve with WCT 

Thursday May 2:  Stewardship Volunteer Thursday with WCT 

Saturday May 4: Runnymeade Farms Tree Planting with CRC

Tuesday May 7: ECOcentric Lecture Series: Otters in Our Waters with WCT 

Wednesday May 8: Leaf Your Worries Behind: Nature Walk with Gretchen with WCT 

Thursday May 9: Public Bird Banding at Rushton Woods Preserve with WCT 

Saturday May 11: Mushroom Walk & Talk with Beth Teigen from Philly Mycology Club at Don Guanella Woods with DCVA

Saturday May 11: Cobbs Creek Water Quality Testing with CCCEEC.

Wednesday May 15: 2024 Joan and Dick Stroud Memorial Lecture featuring author and photographer Tim Palmer with Stroud Water Research Center

Thursday May 16: Public Bird Banding at Rushton Woods Preserve with WCT 



June 2024

Thursday June 6: Mindful Birding at Dusk with Holly Merker with WCT 

Saturday June 8: Cobbs Creek Water Quality Testing with CCCEEC.

Sunday June 9: Don Guanella 40th Anniversary Celebration Hike with DCVA

Monday June 10: Algae, Algae, Everywhere lecture with Stroud Water Research Center

Tuesday June 11: ECOcentric Lecture Series: Exploring the World of Birds with WCT 

Saturday June 22: John Heinz Refuge 40th Anniversary Celebration Hike with DCVA

Sunday June 23: Swedish Cabin Hike 40th Anniversary Celebration Hike with DCVA



Full event calendars for Volunteer and Education Event Hosts are below:


Is there someone missing?

Email us and let us know! Blogs will be added monthly with updated events from around the region - if you know of upcoming events, email LBM@wctrust.org to have it added to the list of opportunities.


Submit your pictures and stories of how you are making an impact on the watershed!

Share the impact that you are making by submitting your pictures and a brief 1-2 sentences of what you have been up to. Thank you for making a difference in the Darby/Cobbs and neighboring watersheds!

12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page